Day 11 – The quick and dirty decision

Natalie: “Which business model is best for you and what one revenue stream is most feasible?”

Much water has flowed under the bridge since I last posted an entry. I was challenged in the interim to a heartfelt look at what I am doing to create revenue pursuing what I love.  On the one hand, I am selling myself, as a consultant working with SharePoint solutions.  But that pursuit represents a large shift in my career direction and I am starting essentially from scratch: new business, new network, new city. Hmmm. In spite of great intentions and, perhaps, unrealistic expectations, this has not taken off to the extent desired.  That is ok! I did, however, count on revenue from my old career of technical writing, something I do well and which is in some demand.  Not, apparently, as much demand as I would like! LOL…

So I started looking more closely at the world of internet business in keeping with Natalie’s line of thinking and which provides less location dependence and more residual type of income. I really need to find something that will generate revenue in the interim while I build my business and figure out what aspect the online part will cover.  It’s a bit of a challenge with so nebulous an offering. I mean, consulting?  How do you package that online?  Well, it’s done and I will do it–eventually. And so, on the other hand, I am planning for residual earnings as well.

Interestingly, the universe often (nearly always) lines up to provide for those who ask. And, believe me, I’ve been asking. I came across an interesting opportunity that I am now undertaking.  It’s relatively simple and straightforward. It’s not unlike what Natalie offers, just packaged differently and like anything, requires some considerable work up front. It will teach me additional fundamentals of internet marketing over and above what I am already learning from Natalie. I’m excited and eager to start. Well, I am starting and this will provide me with both immediate and residual income to fuel me while I build my consulting practice.

Stay tuned to hear more in case you too would like to participate!

Oh, and by the way, I have been invited to participate in a tiny consulting job! So it is unfolding as it should!

About skateykat

Aspiring software consultant specializing in SharePoint. Business implementations and change management focusing on end user experience that is satisfying and productive.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

