Day 10 – Online profits? Who am I kidding?

Natalie: “What are the key ways in which you want to make money online in your chosen business OR Which are the key online revenue streams you want to focus on in your existing business?”

A recent revelation has me questioning just about everything in pursuit of my business the past few days.  I no longer know exactly how I will make money online. Until a few days ago, I was planning to do software consulting for business implementation and change management. Now, I have come to realize that I am not entirely, or easily, qualified to do the consulting I had intended.  Nor will I be able to obtain that qualification any time soon. In the meantime, it’s imperative for me to evaluate some alternative strategies.

With respect to an online business and regardless of specific content, I suspect I will produce video training products, some of which will be free, and other, more in-depth, available for paid use. For now, this is the only product I can foresee for now although, in future, I may have a template product which could be very interesting. Much of my business will be face-to-face at the beginning until I can learn other ways to monetize the web space.  I’d like to write a book but believe that books are not a great way to make lots of money. According to Bill Walsh, they are more like business cards.

The one I have begun to understand about online content, however, is that there are several key components to selling success: a video presence, so people can see who they are dealing with, an information-intense site to build credibility and trust, and the actual product itself. It’s critical to have a system that delivers the content in a logical, intuitive way making it easy for buyers to  purchase.  Finding ways to build suspense to introduce a concept is a great way to get folks excited. This afternoon I’ve signed up for a presentation to learn how to build a successful online business. There is a very defined system in place to introduce this opportunity and it’s impressive. First an email with a link, then a short video showing some great results–very large bank deposits! As well, there are work sheets to download and use during the upcoming webinar. I also received an email confirmation with these follow-up links. I am already excited and I have no idea what I’ll be watching.

The upshot of this post is that I am uncertain about my product, not clear about what to do, need some ideas for how to get started and looking for help. Thanks, Natalie, for assisting me to get rolling!

About skateykat

Aspiring software consultant specializing in SharePoint. Business implementations and change management focusing on end user experience that is satisfying and productive.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 10 – Online profits? Who am I kidding?

  1. skateykat says:

    The one good thing about today’s post is that, in spite of how lame it is, I have actually figured out how to insert Trackbacks. Victory!

Leave a Reply

