Day 3 – An easy question

Natalie: “Should you start a business while traveling?”

This is not something I particularly want to do. I am happy to start my business from my home environment and take it on the road with me. Of course, I appreciate that the factors that are important for having a successful business while traveling are just the same as the ones that are required for any successful business:

  • A clear idea of what I want to do
  • Focus and discipline
  • Resources to do the things I don’t want to do or can’t do

The idea is clear enough to start:  I am a software consultant specializing in SharePoint. I do business implementation and change management. I want to ensure that SharePoint is a satisfying and productive experience for all users. This idea will continue to grow and develop as I learn more about the software itself and about the direction I want my business to go. But first a contract!

The big lesson I must learn in the next 15 months is how to maintain focus and discipline in the building of this business.  Each day I am identifying the A list of things to do and fulfilling that list.  Not without some difficulties, that’s for sure! It’s so easy to get side-tracked by emails.  And it sure would be handy to have a partner to do some cooking and laundry!

But I am improving on that score. I track as much as possible–my sleep patterns, my diet, my expenses, my exercise regime, my A, B and C list. Even though each day has some interruptions, distractions and those darned emails, I feel as if I am making progress toward focusing on the important stuff. It isn’t going to happen overnight. Discipline means just that–maintaining the focus and doing the right things over and over again, even when it gets boring.

Resources to do the things I can’t or won’t do is what I will acquire over time as I develop the relationships and the teams.  I need a good technical person to help me with my web presence. I need a social marketer to help me with my social networking. I need a Mastermind group (which is starting today!) to help keep me on track.  I need training resources to help develop the tools I will offer.  And that is just the start.

So no, I won’t start my business while traveling but I will surely be traveling in my business!

About skateykat

Aspiring software consultant specializing in SharePoint. Business implementations and change management focusing on end user experience that is satisfying and productive.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

