Day 1 – A post in two parts

Friday night, feeling inspired about my business after a great yesterday with Bill Walsh, and a lovely day today with friends, Birgitte, and then for supper, Peter.  As well, caught two amazing documentaries, one about the Gateway Pipeline and the other, Salmon Conspiracy, both of which may have swayed my opinion on those issues.

I have had many thoughts over the last couple of days with respect to building a business that has a serious online presence. I have seen SharePoint based sites that offer truly great training and information about SharePoint but I think there is room for more.  I want to provide that in the niche I believe is empty right now.

A blog represents a very large commitment to be present regularly to creating commentary in a community. I have struggled with the notion of commentary from the beginning, and yet it is a hallmark of one who is successful and has something to contribute. I get caught up in the banality of so many messages I see every day. And yet, each one has something to offer. Why not mine? Each voice brings something different to the table received by a certain group of followers. If some can follow the stuff I consider banal, why not have my own audience follow my banal thoughts?

So rather than focus on banality, better to think about the commitment which is just as much of a challenge.  It is really about writing for the sake of writing and developing the habit. The thoughts, as learning and knowledge develop and progress, will turn themselves into the content. For the time begin, let’s develop the habit and not focus so much on the message.

Natalie, the Suitcase Entrepreneur, suggests 250 to 1000 words per blog. If this is the case, I am behind by about 50 or 60 words–not so much. I struggled at the outset of this missive because I couldn’t enter the challenge on her site.  So I feel slightly sidelined by the misdirection of my focus. On the other hand, my focus is easily diverted. Apparently, this time, to the extent that I can’t quite remember what inspiring thoughts I wanted to write down.

This is a great exercise and not the first time I have attempted it. The greatest accomplishment will be to write this many words every day. Let the blogging begin!

Sunday night

Natalie: “Write a post on why you started your blog, who you wanted to reach, what you wanted it to be all about. Then state why you joined this blog challenge and what you want to get out of it.”

Some of this will have been addressed above but to stick with the process, I begin.  I started this blog to make the commitment to writing something everyday.  I also like the concept of writing regularly about the process of starting a business and what it entails. Just the reflection, review and logging of daily thoughts, ideas, inspirations will put me ahead of my own game. I grappled with this one early on–several weeks ago I pondered just these notions. What does it mean to blog every day about a new business? Can I do it? Can I actually fulfill the commitment to myself? Can I make meaningful entries that will not  only track my thoughts and process but will be significant enough to be decent reading for future reference.

Who do I want to reach? That’s a good question because clearly part of the commitment is to write (somewhat) publicly in order to seal the commitment deal. And to write cogently enough to draw, or at least, not repel readers. So clearly the choice I am making right now, as I write in a private online journal, is that I am reaching no one for the time being. My audience, should I choose to select one, would initially be those who are supporting me in my journey to a successful and profitable enterprise.  Beyond that, the audience must by business progress, commitment and success, extend to the public–anyone who is interested enough to stop by and read, whether once or more often. Clearly, at that stage, I had better ensure the quality is good enough, inspiring enough, interestng enough to continue to draw readers.

For now this blog is about my own business development process. Ultimately, I want to publish information and thoughts about my SharePoint business, my approach, my expertise and any comments that require more air time than either Twitter or Facebook. I joined this blog at the recommendation of my new Mastermind colleague, Melanie, who is also doing it.  I plan to get into the habit of expressing myself, my thoughts, and elaborating on my processes daily.  I have learned that when I talk to people about my business, I appear to have some pretty good ideas. Problem is, it’s hard to get them all down. This is the forum for that!

About skateykat

Aspiring software consultant specializing in SharePoint. Business implementations and change management focusing on end user experience that is satisfying and productive.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

